this is the git repository for the GRT continuation project

Deleting a User account (FREE)

Users can be deleted from a GitLab instance, either by:

  • The user themselves.
  • An administrator.

NOTE: Deleting a user deletes all projects in that user namespace.

As a user

As a user, to delete your own account:

  1. On the top bar, in the top right corner, select your avatar.
  2. Select Edit profile.
  3. On the left sidebar, select Account.
  4. Select Delete account.

As an administrator (FREE SELF)

As an administrator, to delete a user account:

  1. On the top bar, select Menu > Admin.
  2. On the left sidebar, select Overview > Users.
  3. Select a user.
  4. Under the Account tab, select:
    • Delete user to delete only the user but maintain their associated records.
    • Delete user and contributions to delete the user and their associated records.

WARNING: Using the Delete user and contributions option may result in removing more data than intended. Please see associated records below for additional details.

Associated records

  • Introduced for issues in GitLab 9.0.
  • Introduced for merge requests, award emoji, notes, and abuse reports in GitLab 9.1.
  • Introduced hard deletion from abuse reports and spam logs in GitLab 9.1.
  • Introduced hard deletion from the API in GitLab 9.3.

There are two options for deleting users:

  • Delete user
  • Delete user and contributions

When using the Delete user option, not all associated records are deleted with the user. Here's a list of things created by the user that are not deleted:

  • Abuse reports
  • Award emoji
  • Epics
  • Issues
  • Merge requests
  • Notes

Instead of being deleted, these records are moved to a system-wide user with the username Ghost User, whose sole purpose is to act as a container for such records. Any commits made by a deleted user still display the username of the original user.

When using the Delete user and contributions option, all associated records are removed. This includes all of the items mentioned above including issues, merge requests, notes/comments, and more. Consider blocking a user or using the Delete user option instead.

When a user is deleted from an abuse report or spam log, these associated records are not ghosted and are removed, along with any groups the user is a sole owner of. Administrators can also request this behavior when deleting users from the API or the Admin Area.

Troubleshooting

Deleting a user results in a PostgreSQL null value error

There is a known issue that results in users not being deleted, and the following error generated:

ERROR: null value in column "user_id" violates not-null constraint

The error can be found in the PostgreSQL log and in the Retries section of the background jobs view in the Admin Area.

If the user being deleted used the iterations feature, such as adding an issue to an iteration, you must use the workaround documented in the issue to delete the user.